The Western District Executive Board

The Western District Executive Board

(from left to right)
Paul DeTilla, Glen Keller, Diane Klawikowski, Kay Wipperfurth, Betsy Miller, Dan Wilson, Larry Christianson, Barry Lehman

Mission Statement:
Together we serve Christ through leading, supporting, and empowering the clergy and the congregations of the Western District.

The Rev. Larry Christianson, (president), of Waconia, MN. Brother Christianson was elected in 1998 to complete the term of Rev. R. Burke Johnson who was elected president of the Northern Provincial Elders’ Conference. He had served as pastor of the Waconia (MN) Moravian Church for 13 years. A native of Green Bay, Wisconsin, he has also served as pastor at Lake Auburn, MN and Canton, MI.

The Rev. Dr. Barry A. Lehman, (vice-president) co-pastor of the Chaska (Minn.) Moravian Church. Brother Lehman also serves the church as a consultant for church renewal. He and his wife, the Rev. Valerie A. Lehman, moved to Chaska in November 1999. Prior to that they served in team ministry in Watertown, Wis. Brother Lehman also served Moravian congregations in Center Valley, Pa., and York, Pa.

The Rev. Elizabeth D. (Betsy) Miller, (secretary) pastor of the Lake Mills (Wis.) Moravian Church. Sister Miller has pastored the Lake Mills Church since 1985. She also serves on the Board of Trustees for Moravian Theological
Seminary and is on the Board of Directors of the Mt. Morris Camp and Conference Center, a facility of the Moravian Church.
Paul DeTilla, a member of the Downey (CA) Moravian Church. He is currently serving as the president of the Pacific Southwest Board working on joining the Pacific Southwest with the Western District. Paul was elected as that area’s representative to the WDEB to help assist with the transition.

Glen Keller, a member of the Hope (Ind.) Moravian Church. Brother Keller is active in his church and in the community. He served as a Tar Hollow Youth Camp director and business manager, as well as a member of the
Eastern District Executive Board. He is also secretary of the Hope Kiwanis Club and the president of the Bartholomew County Agriculture Extension Board.

Diane Klawikowski, a member of Wisconsin Rapids (Wis.) Moravian Church. Sister Klawikowski is active in her church, and currently serves as treasurer. She has also served as an elder and Sunday School teacher in addition to other administrative roles.

Dan Wilson, a member of the Waconia (Minn.) Moravian Church. Brother Wilson is active in his church and in the community. He serves on the Auburn Manor Board and has also served on the board of trustees of the Waconia Congregation. He is also a member of the Chaska Chamber of Commerce.

Kay Wipperfurth, a member of Lake Mills (Wis.) Moravian Church. Sister Wipperfurth is active in her church, and currently serves as a leadership development trainer and as the greeter coordinator. She has also served as an elder and Sunday School superintendent in addition to president of the Moravian Women.

We cannot forget our office manager, administrative assistant and all-around wonderful person to have working for us, Esther Glas. While not a member of the District Board her ministries of administration and organization are essential to all that we do. She and her husband, Ray, have just celebrated their 30th Anniversary this year.

Our District co-treasurers are Arvin and Deb Zwart of Shakopee, MN. They keep our books in order and make sure that we are doing our accounting correctly.